Arnold Eddy Volunteer Service Award

In 1992, in honor of Arnold Eddy, who served as Permanent Master of the Society from 1942 to 1955, the Skull and Dagger Society established the Arnold Eddy Volunteer Service Award. The award is presented annually at the Initiation Breakfast to a current member of the Society who has demonstrated exemplary volunteer service to the University of Southern California.

The 2020 recipient of the Arnold Eddy award is Carol Troy Thueson (2007).

Carol has given much of her life and love in service to USC. She is loved and respected, in fact treasured, by those who know her and who have worked with and for her. From the time she entered the University as a freshman in 1949, she has served our alma mater well.
Carol has done more than anyone would expect in every cause and activity in which she participates. More frequently than not, she has assumed the role of leader, or advisor in the many groups of which she is/was a member. As an undergraduate, Carol was active in Troeds, Sigma Alpha Iota, Religious Council, Junior, Senior and Student Body Councils and YWCA, eventually serving as President of Maids and Matrons as an alum. As a vocal music major, she sang in many musical performances. She is a member of Delta Delta Delta Sorority.
After graduation, she taught in LA City Schools for 12 years, becoming a Master Teacher, a Saturday morning TV Demonstration Teacher and she piloted the gifted children's program under the Superintendent of LA City Schools.
Carol retired from teaching to raise two daughters, one of whom is a USC graduate (Julie Lynn Thueson Pircher, Class of Winter 1988). She found time, during these years, to be active in Trojan Junior Auxiliary, Trojan Guild of LA (President, 1967-68), Trojan League of LA (VP, Ways and Means, 1979-1980), Life Member of Town and Gown, serving many years on the Board, and Alumnae Coordinating Council. Carol also found time to serve in her community as a member of Orphanage Guild Juniors of LA, Assistance League of LA, Oakmont League of Glendale, National Charity League of Glendale, PEO-Chapter KD, Delta Delta Delta Alumnae Association and La Canada Presbyterian Church.
In 1983, Carol accepted a position at USC with the USC Alumni Association as Associate Director of Volunteer Programs, a job at which she worked tirelessly for 18 years. Her responsibilities included advising the 22 Women's Alumnae Groups. She developed and advised the Pepsters, Student Ambassadors for the University (100+students). She was so good at advising student groups that she was asked to continue advisement to the Pepsters after her retirement. Scions, a legacy Trojan students group, had dwindled to so few participants that the group no longer had meetings when Carol took over their advisement. It wasn't long before there was attendance of 200 on a regular basis. She advised the STAR Council, the Senior Committee, and directed SCamp, "The Family Vacation for Trojans, their Families and Friends." She continued as adviser to Alumnae Coordinating Council as a volunteer for many years.
Carol continues to give to others and those who have received from her want to give back. She has received a Widney Alumni House Award and a Presidential Award from the USC Alumni Association. In 2019, Pepster Alumni and other grateful Trojans created a Town and Gown Endowed Scholarship in the name of Carol Troy Thueson. Carol has been given Honorary Membership in several of the Trojan Leagues, as well as the Association of Trojan Leagues.
Skull and Dagger is pleased to honor Carol Troy Thueson.

The following is a list of past recipients of this award:

1993 Lorna Young Reed
1994 John C. Argue
1995 Phyllis Norton Cooper
1996 Raymond Arbuthnot
Mary Kay Damson Arbuthnot
1997 Ann Bothwell
1998 Richard Van Vorst
1999 Herbert Klein
2000 Barbara Taft Galpin
2001 Robert Dockson
2002 George N. Boone
2003 Linda Dean Maudlin
2004 Otis M. Healy
2005 Gordon Gray
2006 L. Joe Enloe
2007 Hilton Green
2008 Sue and James Femino
2009 Albert D. Shonk, Jr.
2010 Dann V. Angeloff
2011 Yoshi Honkawa
2012 Gerald S. Papazian
2013 Janet and James Eddy
2014 Paul Salata
2015 Jane and Gale Bensussen
2016 Yvonne V. Bogdanovich
2017 William Heeres
2019 Ron Orr
2020  Carol Troy Thueson