skull&dagger_small.gif (16662 bytes)

Skull and Dagger Foundation Scholarships

The Skull and Dagger Foundation has established two scholarships in memory of former Permanent Masters of the Society. The first was established in 1989 and is named in memory of Dr. Kenneth Owler Smith, a professor of Journalism, who served as Permanent Master of the Society from 1983 until his passing in 1988. The second was established in 2002 in memory of Dr. Harrison M. Kurtz, a professor of Biological Sciences, who served as Permanent Master from 1989 until his passing in 2001. A third scholarship was established in 2014.  The Barden Centennial Scholarship is dedicated in memory and honor of Bella and Don Barden, and also celebrates their daughter's, Alana Marshall Barden ('13) initiation into the Skull and Dagger centennial class, which was made possible by Bella and Don's support and financing of her USC education.  All three scholarships are awarded annually to the continuing USC students (graduate or undergraduate) who have demonstrated significant campus and/or community leadership.

Click here for information and applications for the 2017-2018 Skull and Dagger Foundation Scholarships - Due Friday, March 3, 2017

2016-2017 Winners

The three scholarship recipients for the 2015-2016 school year are Lyssa J. Aruda, Alexandria A. Mullings and Marta G. Olson:

Lyssa J. Aruda is a senior from Newport Beach, California majoring in Chemical Engineering with an Art History minor, maintaining a 3.72 grade point average.  She will be staying on one additional year at USC to earn her Masters in Engineering Management.  She served as president of Order of Omega, on the executive board of her sorority Alpha Phi, Vice President of Student Affairs of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, and a Viterbi Student Ambassador.  She is a USC Presidential Scholar, received a USC Merit Research Award and volunteers weekly at Compton Avenue Elementary School with Girl Scouts aged 5-12.  She is the recipient of the Harrison M. Kurtz Memorial Scholarship.

Alexandria A. Mullings is the first recipient of the Barden Centennial Scholarship.   She is a sophomore from Foster City, California majoring in Economics, with a minor in Gender Studies and Race, Equity and Politics.  She serves as a Resident Advisor, Chairperson of Building Government and has served as Programming Chair of USC Residential Student Government and a Building Government Representative.  She is a USC Alumni Scholar, USC BAA Scholar and the recipient of numerous other academic scholarships and awards.  She is a Production/Event Assistant for Visions and Voices and plans to become a lawyer and an economics professional after she graduates.

Marta G. Olson is a junior from Englewood, Colorado, majoring in Music and Narrative Studies maintaining a 3.74 grade point average.  She serves as a USC Tour Guide, a Resident Advisor, Musical Director of Reverse Osmosis, the USC A Capella choir, and was a Community Outreach Senator for Housing Government.  She is a teacher of the Thornton School of Music Outreach/Center of Women and Men, as well as a mentor for SPARK, which encourages inner-city teens interested in pursuing music through two hour weekly music lessons.  She is the recipient of the Kenneth Owler Smith Memorial Scholarship.

The following is a list of the past recipients of this scholarship:

1989 Quang H. Nguyen
2003 Ashwini Lakshmanan
Andrew Park
1990 Jeffrey S. McIllwain
Paul S. Weiland
2004 Ali Khan
Monika Roy
1991 Nick Laurence Lim
Christine J. Suh
2005 Emily Fetting
Heather Larabee
1992 Michael A. Hardesty
Elin K. Bartell
2006 Michelle Adams
Briana Monahan
1993 Ara H. Dikranian
Subhashini Warnakulasuriya
2007 Breanna Cardwell
Dallas Woodburn
1994 Desmond Harding
Rebecca J. Ratliff
2008 Ashly N. Davis
Erin E. Jones
1995 Samantha R. Kerdman
Derek Reeve
2009 Shiyu (Shery) Bai
Keaton J. Gray
1996 David S. Gabler
Martin H. Pritikin
2010 Ryan M. O'Shea
Brian Tenenbaum
1997 Maria D. Alcocer
Bryan A. Yamani
2011 Stephanie Stillman
Gregory Woodburn
1998 Kenneth R. Carson
Matthew J. Pippin
2012 Vladimir A. Ljubimov
Tanya B. Shah
1999 Michael S. Carter
Carla M. Smith
2013 Yael Adef
Shelley Jelineo
2000 H. Milam Smith
Jennifer B. Vega
2014 Zarina Abamova
Michael Nguyen
2001 Nikhil Aggarwal
Cindy H. Lee
2015 Lyssa J. Aruda
Alexandria A. Mullings
Marta G. Olson
2002 Pamela Mehta
Grant M. Wiswell