skull&dagger_small.gif (16662 bytes)


Skull and Dagger Foundation Scholarships

The Skull and Dagger Foundation has established two scholarships in memory of former Permanent Masters of the Society. The first was established in 1989 and is named in memory of Dr. Kenneth Owler Smith, a professor of Journalism, who served as Permanent Master of the Society from 1983 until his passing in 1988. The second was established in 2002 in memory of Dr. Harrison M. Kurtz, a professor of Biological Sciences, who served as Permanent Master from 1989 until his passing in 2001. Both scholarships are awarded annually to the continuing USC students (graduate or undergraduate) who have demonstrated significant campus and/or community leadership.

2007-2008 Winners

The two scholarship recipients for the 2007-2008 school year are Breanna Cardwell and Dallas Woodburn.

Breanna Cardwell is a junior majoring in Broadcast Journalism and is maintaining a 3.7 grade point average. She is the president and a board member of Chicanos for Progressive Education.  On campus, she is a member of the Alpha Lambda Delta, Lambda Pi Eta, and the USC Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA).  She received the California Chicano News Media Association scholarship and a Wal-Mart Scholarship/Merit Award, among many others.  She works with high school students to motivate them to attend college.  Breanna is from Oak Park, California.

Dallas Woodburn is a sophomore majoring in Creative Writing while maintaining a 3.89 grade point average.  She is a USC Associates Trustee Merit Scholar as well as a member of Alpha Lambda Delta and Phi Kappa Phi.  She is president of the Undergraduate Society of English Majors.  She writes a bi-weekly column for the Daily Trojan and has had many articles published in national magazines.  She has written and self-published two well-reviewed children’s books.  Dallas is from Ventura, California.