skull&dagger_small.gif (16662 bytes)


Skull and Dagger Foundation Scholarships

The Skull and Dagger Foundation has established two scholarships in memory of former Permanent Masters of the Society. The first was established in 1989 and is named in memory of Dr. Kenneth Owler Smith, a professor of Journalism, who served as Permanent Master of the Society from 1983 until his passing in 1988. The second was established in 2002 in memory of Dr. Harrison M. Kurtz, a professor of Biological Sciences, who served as Permanent Master from 1989 until his passing in 2001. Both scholarships are awarded annually to the continuing USC students (graduate or undergraduate) who have demonstrated significant campus and/or community leadership.

2008-2009 Winners

The two scholarship recipients for the 2008-2009 school year are Ashly N. Davis and Erin E. Jones:

Ashly N. Davis
is currently a junior majoring in Communication and Business Administration. She is a member of the Governing Board of the Norman Topping Student Aid Fund, and will chair the board next year. She is Vice President of the Rites of Sisterhood Youth mentoring program, Director of Publicity of the Annenberg Black Student Association and serves as student liaison for the Office of Admission. Recently elected to Phi Beta Kappa as a junior, she is maintaining a 3.82 grade point average while working at two on-campus jobs. She is originally from San Francisco, California.

Erin E. Jones is a second year medical student at the USC Keck School of Medicine. She completed her Postbaccalaureate Premedical program at USC after she received her undergraduate degree from UC Santa Cruz. She has served in leadership roles in medical schools in many clubs and organizations, including serving as the president of the Family Medicine Interest group and most recently having been selected the student representative of the California Academy of Family Physicians Medical Student and Resident Affairs Committee. Originally from Lake Tahoe, California, she plans a career in Family Medicine.