skull&dagger_small.gif (16662 bytes)


Skull and Dagger Foundation Scholarships

The Skull and Dagger Foundation has established two scholarships in memory of former Permanent Masters of the Society. The first was established in 1989 and is named in memory of Dr. Kenneth Owler Smith, a professor of Journalism, who served as Permanent Master of the Society from 1983 until his passing in 1988. The second was established in 2002 in memory of Dr. Harrison M. Kurtz, a professor of Biological Sciences, who served as Permanent Master from 1989 until his passing in 2001. Both scholarships are awarded annually to the continuing USC students who have shown evidence of service and dedication to and performance on behalf of the University.

2002-2003 Winners

The two scholarship winners for the 2002-2003 school year are Pamela Mehta and Grant M. Wiswell.

Mehta is from Irvine, California and is maintaining a 3.54 grade point average.  She is currently serving as Co-Founder and Co-Program Manager of the Collegiate Med Volunteers, a health care volunteer program for 150 students at the LAC+USC Healthcare Network.  She is a Presidential Scholar, a member of Mortar Board and is President of Blue Key, the national service fraternity.  She will be attending USCís Keck School of Medicine next year.

Wiswell is from Seal Beach, California and is currently a second year student at the USC Keck School of Medicine.  He graduated from USC in 1998 with a B.S. degree in Exercise Science while maintaining a 3.76 grade point average.  He was selected the outstanding male graduate award from the department of exercise science department, was a member of Mortar Board, Blue Key and Phi Kappa Phi.  He serves as a translator for both the Keck School of Medicine Outreach Program and for the Department of Biokinesiology and Physical Therapy in Mexico.