skull&dagger_small.gif (16662 bytes)


Skull and Dagger Foundation Scholarships

The Skull and Dagger Foundation has established two scholarships in memory of former Permanent Masters of the Society. The first was established in 1989 and is named in memory of Dr. Kenneth Owler Smith, a professor of Journalism, who served as Permanent Master of the Society from 1983 until his passing in 1988. The second was established in 2002 in memory of Dr. Harrison M. Kurtz, a professor of Biological Sciences, who served as Permanent Master from 1989 until his passing in 2001. Both scholarships are awarded annually to the continuing USC students who have shown evidence of service and dedication to and performance on behalf of the University.

2003-2004 Winners

The two scholarship winners for the 2003-2004 school year are Ashwini Lakshmanan and Andrew Y. Park.

Lakshmanan is from Pasadena, California and is currently a second year student at the USC Keck School of Medicine.  She graduated from USC in 2001 with a B.S. degree in Biological Sciences, and a B.A. in Social Sciences. As an undergraduate at USC, she founded and served as the President of the Hindu Students Organization, served as Director of Trojan Health Volunteers, and was a member of Mortar Board and Phi Beta Kappa.  Her leadership at Keck includes serving as Treasurer of the Associated Students of the School of Medicine, and Co-Chairing the Salerni Collegium Career Day.

Park is from San Marino, California, and is also a student at the USC Keck School of Medicine. While an undergraduate student at USC, Park was the Captain of the NCAA Championship Tennis Team, selected  NCAA All-American, and was a Trustees Scholar. His senior year, he was the recipient of the PAC 10 Gold Medal Award, which is awarded each year to the outstanding male and female student athlete in the PAC 10. Now completing his first year of studies at Keck, Park enjoys volunteering with local elementary school students as part of the USC Civic and Community Outreach program.